Yep, I’m having a literally cold Valentine’s Day. Aside from the fact that I’m SINGLE (oo na, loveless na kung loveless!), I am having a runny nose – think I’m having a cold. Grrrr.

I’ve been forgetting to take my daily vitamins, then I’m tired all the time… yes, I know, supplements are meant to maintain good health, and are not medicines. Most of us take vitamins when we already feel sick. Bad habit. I need to really discipline myself to regularly take my vitamins. Prevention is way better than taking medications later. Huh. Remind me that.

====

I searched the web for Valentines Day, and I found materials saying there are a lot of St. Valentines with different feast days, two of them having a feast day on February 14. Hmm… that explains the lack of focus on the real St. Valentine. There are no complete accounts of his (their) life and works. The most famous is the martyred priest from Rome who secretly performed marriage ceremonies for couples in a time when the Roman emperor banned marriages because at that time, the men were trained to become soldiers, and married soldiers were said to be ineffective (in my opinion, BOTH soldiers and priests should NOT get married wehehe!) Anyway, this particular Valentine was imprisoned when the secret marriages were discovered, and before he was executed, he miraculously healed the blind daughter of his jailer. It was also said that Valentine fell in love with this blind daughter, and wrote her a note that said “From Your Valentine”.

Just like Santa during Christmas, it is sad that this day has become so commercialized. In my opinion, the act of the martyred St. Valentine to heal the daughter of his jailer has a strong message: do good regardelss of, inspite of… sharing God’s love is not confined to the people we already love in the first place. God’s love has to reach the hearts of those we despise the most (urg!). Or is it the other way, should we let God’s love in our hearts so we need not despise anyone anymore? Hmm, napaisip ako dun ah.

Oh well, let me just greet you all a Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope you and your partner will be in love not just today, but for the rest of your lives. 🙂 With each other lang ha! (hehe, dapat malinaw!)

🙂